Bahamian Blue

Bahamian Blue: that’s the name of my new front door color!

But let’s back up a little bit. Seeing that it’s been quite a while since I’ve last posted an update.

I felt that my entryway was much too plain and boring. Beige, beige, beige. And a little of faded sage green in there.
before

BLAH.

So I decided that I wanted to start updating it a little to more of my taste – which is where I LOVE color! After playing around in Photoshop to see what color goes best in this little area, I decided a teal-ish blue works best. I played with red, yellow, green, pink, white, black, brown and blue. Blue seemed to fit the best.

Next step: PAINT CHIPS. I gathered up all the ones that appealed to me and slapped them on the door. I left them there for about 3-4 days, looking at them in all kinds of lighting and distances. Morning, afternoon, night. Inside and outside. 1 foot away. 20 feet away.
painchips
chipsinside chipsfarnarroweddown

Narrowed those chips down to two: Mermaid Treasure and Bahamian Blue. (I’m sure you know where I’m gonna be going with by now… if you’ve been reading!) I bought them in samples from Home Depot and painted bigger swatches on my door.
twochoice

Those paint swatches, I left up for about a week while I looked at them at all times of the day and distances. I ultimately decided on the swatch on the left: Bahamian Blue. It was just a bit bluer then the greener Mermaid Treasure. It showed through the storm door’s screen a bit brighter than the Mermaid Treasure color.

Time to get painting! I took off the doorknobs, taped the edges and framing up and got down to biz-nass.
IMG_4431 painted doorfront_done doorfinish

As I took all the painters tape off, I came to see just how crappy of a paint job the previous guys did. They didn’t prep the door right. Because my DELICATE painters tape managed to rip the old white paint right off. And on top of that, it did a pretty crappy job preventing the bleed through on the edges.
rippedpaint dooredgeclose

So now, I needed to decide if I was going to paint the back of the front door white to fix the blue edges and the ripped paint spots, or paint the whole thing blue to match the front side of the door.

Again, another couple of days while I hemmed and hawed over this decision. I decided….

PAINT IT!
backdoor_start backdoor_finish

Meanwhile… I spied a larger rug at Target that fit the space better.
newrug

I rather like it.

I now want some sort of oil-rubbed bronzed door knocker and matching doorknobs to complete the door. But more on that later…

4 thoughts on “Bahamian Blue

Leave a Reply

