Gutter go boom.

Two days before I headed back home to DC for the holidays, I wake up to see that one of my gutters fell off the house.

Yep. Completely off the house. In the back, sitting not-so-pretty on my deck.
omgcat

Granted, in my favor, it was not a roofline gutter, but a downspout one that hugged the house’s walls. Still, this happened in the middle of a wet winter. On that particular day, it was raining with forecasts of more rain, which meant any real fixes (as in = using sealant) was out of the question. And of course, add in the fact that I was going to be out of town – I didn’t want to just let water run onto my deck – possibly damaging the deck, and then there’s that whole water near the foundation issue. Water + foundation = not good.
gutter-off

I did suspect something was wrong with that particular gutter, because before that point in time – there was a HUGE ice dam building up off of it. It was pretty to see, but man, dangerously lethal if one were to try to walk under it and it fell. Thankfully it was not in a location where a person would normally walk under it. I knew I would need to be replacing all the gutters in the spring (which was something I already had in mind after replacing the one gutter in the fall). I just didn’t think this would happen!
gutter-ice_closeup
gutter-ice

Joys of home ownership, I know, I know. Yay.

So with 8 hours of daylight left, I called on a friend who has handyman skills and he came over to help me pick up my poor gutter carcass and put in a temporary fix. Something that was going to allow the water run out and AWAY from the house. Instead of having it drain the water back into the other downspout gutter, which was where it was connected to before (we couldn’t put it back because you need to seal the connecting gutters together, which the wet weather prevented us from doing), he flipped it around and set it up so that it would drain out towards my backyard. Thanks Pat!
gutter-temp1

Since this still let water run all over my deck, I needed to go out and get some more gutters in order to direct the water to the yard, so off I went to Home Depot. I decided to get some flexible gutters, since I was planning on getting some in the spring for the front of my house. Because I’ll end up permanently using these flexi-spouts in two different areas out in the front, I grabbed one in brown (where it’ll end up in a mulch area) and one in green (going in a grassy area). Came back home, connected those to the metal gutter. It wouldn’t hold by itself, so I scrounged up some screws and drilled them into the connecting part so that it would hold. This required 4 hands – two to hold it in place, and two to do the drilling/screwing, so I asked my next-door neighbor to come over to help me out. So standing out in the rain, she held the flexi-spouts in place for me while I attached them all together with the screws.
gutter-temp2

tempgutter

There! Temporary fix done, I hope it holds out till Spring! So far so good….

It’s sooooo classy looking (sarcastic). Half painted gutter, brown spout, green spout, in the middle of my deck, where I can see it everyday from my kitchen.
gutter-hole-current gutter-classy

emma-stone-says-oh-yea

Leave a Reply

