Timber!

For the last few months, I’ll look outside my kitchen window and look into my backyard, I see this….

IMG_2647

More importantly, I see and think this:

mustrake

Autumn is going to be here in a couple of months, and I have absolutely no desire to endure the raking-of-leaves ordeal that I went through last year! So I hired a good friend, Pat, who runs a handyman business on the side, and we got down to business. We marked out the 4 trees I wanted gone. We removed some fence sections in the back and on the sides. He used a ladder to cut off some lower branches. Tied a rope to the top, which I yanked on as he cut through the trunk, so that the tree would fall into my yard. Let me tell you – every time a tree fell, I held my breath since I was terrified that it would fall the wrong way and smash either my neighbor’s shed or my fencing – but no casualties occurred!

MarkedTreesIMG_2651 IMG_2652

Then his wife, another good friend of mine and I started to pull all the leafy branches and tops out to the curb for the town to come pick it up. That was quite a bit of laborious work, but we got it done! We ended up cutting down 5 trees in total, and the result? A much happier me knowing that I have that many less leaves to rake! (Trust me, I’m not naive enough to think I’ll have no leaves to rake….I just hope it will be significantly less!)

IMG_2658

It’s ironic, because growing up: I was a pretty big tree-hugger. I would give anyone who merely thought about cutting trees down the death stare. I judged people as evil for killing these wonderous living things. Even cutting branches off? I equated that to cutting off human arms! (So phone and power companies were never well-respected in my book… they cut trees to save their silly wires!) The horror! ….. But today? *ahem* After one fall’s worth of raking leaves? CHOP THEM ALL DOWN. Less is more! It’s sorta sad how growing up changes you.

IMG_2655

As of right now, Pat needs to come back with his smaller chain saw to cut the pile of wood (that’s in the middle of the lawn currently) into logs. I’m debating on leaving that back section of the fencing off for a longer period of time, since I’m enjoying that big boulder and the extra space there is beyond the fence. (in case you wanted to know, my property actually extends beyond that – if you can spy a tree with a pink tie wrapped around it, in the back-left by the chain link fence – that’s the marker of the edge of my property.

The tops of each tree were all put to the curb, but the trunks – I saved. I have them stacked up in the back, and will let them dry out and then use them next year for a FIRE PIT that I want to add!

IMG_2656IMG_2657

But look at that… all that space! Please ignore the lovely pile of junk that is in the middle there. The previous house owners used this area as a garbage dump. I’ve started clearing out all the rotting wood and trash (plastic wrappers, old garden containers, rusted chains, ropes, old fencing material, etc) that is in there. But I can salvage some of the junk, such as these concrete pavers (you can see them in the middle of the above pic, covered in sawdust) to use as flooring in my shed.

2 thoughts on “Timber!

  1. i totally laughed when you said “i have to rake all these leaves.” I do get frustrated when i see power companies cut trees and trim branches. It just annoys me because they do it so UGLY. like why did you put the power line there in the first place? Pretty sure the tree was there first….. then I’m always grateful for having power. =)

Leave a Reply

